My Road Trip with Atlas

I recently moved from Los Angles California to the Lakes Region of New Hampshire. I drove across the US with my  car packed full of my belongings and my toddler in the backseat. We turned a 44 hour drive into a three week trip, stopping along at lots of incredible places.

c

The places that we stopped at along the way were places I had been wanting to go for a really long time, so this was sort of like a dream trip being able to do them all in such a short amount of time. Atlas, my three year old is a really great travel companion who goes with the flow. I usually take him on trips that wouldn’t necessarily be considered “family vacations”. In all honesty, often times he’s having a blast playing with rocks on the ground, while I am staring at the sunset, at places like the Grand Canyon.

b

I think kids can have fun anywhere they go. Atlas has been to over fifteen states in the past year and we are going to three different countries in the next three months. I feel that the best learning comes from experiences like these and I want my children to spend more time in nature than I did when I was a kid. There is so much more appreciation already with him, at such a young age.He stops to smell flowers; even though they may not smell, he still says things like, “Mom, this smells incredible!” He also often points out how “beautiful” the sky looks.

d

We started this trip in the beginning of June and drove in my Volkswagon Jetta. The back seat folds down, so we slept in the car most nights, whether at a campsite or at Walmart.

We went to the Trona Pinnacles, Valley of Fire, Lake Mead, Antelope Canyon, The Grand Canyon,Monument Valley, Maroon Bells, Lone Rock Beach and Rocky Mountain National Park. We saw almost every sunrise and sunset; it was quite a magical experience.

a

Author
Corrine Rice, travels with her son and is an active Instagrammer as Nomadic Mom

family-portrait-feature

Leave a Reply

